top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Day 28: (23 August): Rest Day in Church Stretton



Although my route has not yet reached Church Stretton, I have had my rest day here. Tomorrow Sue will drop me in Ludlow and I will walk from there back to here.


This will be quite a long day with some serious hills, so I am little anxious about having the energy – but it will be after a good rest day, and with the light day-pack. It also promises some amazing countryside and views. A pity I will not be able to detour on to Wenlock Edge (as in Housman and Vaughan Williams).


Church Stretton is a small town in the valley between two lots of impressive hills – The Long Mynd to the west (seen in the picture from my bedroom window) and Caer Caradoc to the East.


In the morning I met up with Lynda and Jim Gray, my sister-in-law and brother-in-law-in-law for coffee in town. They were staying at their caravan in Welshpool.


Then I eventually found a barbers that was prepared to trim my beard. I am letting my hair grow – for the ‘before and after’ look, but the beard was already getting too irritating!


In the afternoon I checked in with son Tom and had a sleep before looking at maps for the coming days, trying to shorten some routes, with varied success. For the first time on the trip I had to spend some time doing normal life admin, negotiating with Nottingham Symphony Orchestra about versions of pieces for the Bingham Choral Last Night of the Proms concert. It is the first time I have dealt with real life admin in four weeks, so I consider myself pretty lucky.


I have been encouraged today by two pairs of friends arranging to meet me – and in one case walk with me – in Scotland, which previously was looking a little thin on the ground as far as personal contact is concerned.


I feel considerably refreshed and looking forward to tomorrow, though conscious that it will be one of the more strenuous days of the trip.


Four complete weeks done!


 


 


Donate to the charities



 

Daily Data

Days left until John O’Groats

47

Route miles walked

404.6

Route miles missed

12 – Bridgwater to Highbridge

5 – Richard’s Castle to Ludlow

Estimated miles until John O’Groats

652

Evening and rest day walking

8.76

Counties walked through

11

Ferry miles

0.4

Number of walking companions so far

7

Number of stiles crossed

69

Current sponsorship total

£12,860.85

Cast of characters (Bold = walking companions)

Jeremy Pemberton, Laurence Cunnington, Brad Poulson, Adele Poulson, Graeme Parkhill, Andy Hellwig, Patrick Lynn, Esther Lynn, Emma Rayner, Quentin Rayner, Sara Low, Robbie Low, Christopher Darwin, Heather Darwin, Christine Hytch, Chris Hytch and Annown, Hilary Edwards, Richard Edwards, Rachel Robbins, Mark Robbins, Ben Turner, Bart Day, Cristina Dorador de Los Santos, Ruth Sharville, Adrian Sharville, Jill Turner-Webb, Lisa Turner-Webb, Crispin Pemberton, Suzannah Pemberton, Jane Mortimore, Peter Mortimore, Ian Howarth, Barbara Howarth, Sue Welch, Bob Welch, Lynda Gray, Jim Gray



154 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page