top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Brief advance from Ellesmere

(Do de-subscribe if you have lost interest in this Blog , now that my progress north is less of an adventure and more series of short holidays!)


On Dec Tue 27th I returned to Ellesmere to continue a short distance on the walk north. I stayed in the same hotel - even the same room - where on 26th August I woke up with the painful foot which put an end to the walk.


I did a half day's walk on the Tuesday, a whole day on the Wednesday and another half day before driving home on the Thursday. Because I was staying on one place, each of these were walks retracing their steps to the starting place, so although I walked about 36 miles, I only added 18.3 miles to the actual journey. The walks took me through Bangor-on-Dee, Holt and Farndon, hopping between England and Wales and ending up at the village of Churton, about 5 miles south of Chester, which is where I shall pick up the journey next time. I have realised that I will not settle to any other kind of holiday until I have made my way to John O'Groats!


More rain fell on me on each of 27th and 28th, than on the whole 31 days of walking in the summer. Thankfully it was not too cold or windy. The terrain was flat, with pleasant if not spectacular country views. My foot gave me no trouble, though was a little stiff the morning after - I shall have to keep an eye on it!


So the total unbroken line is now 504.74 miles, only a little short of half the projected distance.


Although the donations pages closed a few weeks ago, there have been a few more donations and the total now stands at £18,648.92. Donations can still be made to the individual charities, but do let me know so I can add to the 'totaliser'.


My plan, all being well, is to continue for a few days at Easter, and then maybe for two weeks in the Summer. This should mean I have easily 'finished England'.


129 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page