top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Day 33: (28 August) Holt to Birkenhead - but by car


The Holt Lodge Hotel wins the hotels ‘competition’ so far – all boxes ticked plus a power shower. The only problem was one the hotel could not be blamed for: the people in the next room, I assume from the wedding that was happening in the hotel, had their TV on loud all night!





First thing I did a Radio Notts interview with Frances Finn, where my update included the fact that I have a dodgy foot and may have to curtail the trip.


Meanwhile my foot was not as bad as yesterday, but I was still hobbling. The advice on social media was mainly ‘do not risk getting more foot problems’, mixed with a little bit of ‘see how it goes, you would be so disappointed to stop’.


I will make the final decision tomorrow, but my feeling is that even if the foot is a bit better, I will be going directly back to doing what caused the problem in the first place – heavy duty walking with a heavy pack. If you burned your finger and then wound healed, would you then stick your finger back in the flame?


As stated yesterday I had already decided not to walk today or tomorrow, and Hannah was already driving north to meet Tom in Liverpool, so she picked me up on the way. We are all three staying in the Premier Inn Birkenhead (my first time on the Wirral).


We met Tom off the bus and had late lunch in ‘Bill’s’ – friendliest service ever! Then we got a taxi to the Premier Inn.





It is great to catch up with Hannah and Tom – I can now join them as Beatles tourists tomorrow. I have only once been to Liverpool before - a couple of years ago to sing at the Anglican Cathedral and have seen very little of the city. I had never even seen the Liver Birds before today.





Meanwhile I must make the big decision.


I can of course return to do the rest of the walk next year, or over the next two years. Meanwhile I want to make the absolute most of my sponsorship.


If I do decide not to carry on, I will take a few days out to recover before returning to normal life.


After being set on one aim for 31 days, and for all the preparation beforehand, it will be a big emotional and intellectual wrench to forsake the rest of the walk, but it might be foolhardy, not to mention physically impossible to continue………………….



 

Today's route

No Strava today for obvious reasons




 


Donate to the charities



 

Daily Data

Days left until John O’Groats

42

Route miles walked

469.74

Route miles missed

12 – Bridgwater to Highbridge

6 – Richard’s Castle to Ludlow

50 - Ellesmere to Birkenhead

Estimated miles until John O’Groats

55

Evening and rest day walking

14.28

Counties walked through

13

Ferry miles

0.4

Number of walking companions so far

8

Number of stiles crossed

75

Current sponsorship total

£12,948.35

Cast of characters (Bold = walking companions)

Jeremy Pemberton, Laurence Cunnington, Brad Poulson, Adele Poulson, Graeme Parkhill, Andy Hellwig, Patrick Lynn, Esther Lynn, Emma Rayner, Quentin Rayner, Sara Low, Robbie Low, Christopher Darwin, Heather Darwin, Christine Hytch, Chris Hytch and Annown, Hilary Edwards, Richard Edwards, Rachel Robbins, Mark Robbins, Ben Turner, Bart Day, Cristina Dorador de Los Santos, Ruth Sharville, Adrian Sharville, Jill Turner-Webb, Lisa Turner-Webb, Crispin Pemberton, Suzannah Pemberton, Jane Mortimore, Peter Mortimore, Ian Howarth, Barbara Howarth, Sue Welch, Bob Welch, Lynda Gray, Jim Gray, Nigel Pursey, Gill Pursey, Hannah Turner, Tom Turner







206 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page