top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Day 1: Land's End to Gunard's Head

Updated: Jul 30, 2022

Brad and Adele Poulson kindly ran me to Land’s End and after the obligatory photos at the signpost I set off at 9.40 along the coast path.


The morning was a little tense because I knew that I had to have phone signal at 11.50 to do an interview with Radio Nottingham. This took me quite a way from the coast path.


I went on to St Just to make sure of lunch and then reverted to the coast path until doing the last couple of miles by road to save time. I had forgotten how much effort and time it takes to walk on the rocky bits of the coast path.


Good walking weather – either cloudy or warm sun – not too hot.


A half plan I had in mind to do a rate public loos along the way and award a best and worst at the end of the trip was scuppered straight away – the Land’s End Loo was immaculate and will never be beaten, and the St Just one was quite the most disgusting I have ever seen. So that competition is already over.


Today felt more like just a day’s walk, rather than the start of a long adventure – I guess because I will be eating with Brad and Adele again here tonight.


The walk was 16.88 miles with quite a lot of climbing. However I had a light pack as Brad and Adele took some of my stuff by car.


An odd moment when I arrived at the hotel – two cows were eating the hedge at the hotel front. This is quite a regular occurrence apparently – and they have even been known to enter the building.


A surprise comp bottle of Champagne awaited me – which I am saving to use at dinner.











Daily Data

Days left until John O’Groats

75

Route miles walked

16.88

Estimated miles until John O’Groats

1033

Miles walked including evenings and rest days

3

Counties walked through

1

Number of walking companions so far

0

Number of stiles crossed

7

Current sponsorship total

£11,710.30

Cast of characters

Jeremy Pemberton, Laurence Cunnington, Adele Poulson, Brad Poulson


Support the Charities

To donate to any of the four charities, click here.

222 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page