top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Day 22 (17 August): Clifton to Chepstow

Bart ran me back to Clifton to resume walking and I was under way by 7.40. The rest day with Bart and Christina was great, and I hope Christina was not too bored by Bart’s and my lengthy reminiscing! Loved their dogs.


Today turned out to be a very efficient 18 mile walk, initially though the Bristol suburbs (including an emergency loo visit in the Sports Hall of Badminton School – with permission!), then on two well marked and maintained footpaths, with some country lanes in between.



One of the footpaths was frequently marked ‘Spanorium Skyway’, which sounded impressive, but turned out to be a fancy name for a dog walking area. Some really nice countryside sandwiched between motorways and the industrial sprawl of Avonmouth.

After lunch in Aust – the same pub as yesterday with Bart – I eventually found my way onto the pedestrian bit of the Severn Bridge. I only passed two other pedestrians and a handful of cyclists crossing when I was. It was quite impressive walking across the bridge, with time to see stuff you miss when driving.


It didn’t rain, but was pleasantly cool for walking. So much easier than the hot days (most) so far. It is good to finish a fairly long walk without feeling exhausted.


I arrived with my hosts, Ruth and Adrian, by about 4.15. Ruth I met in Staines in the early 80s when she joined my then choir the Tudor Singers, and she has been part of the reunion choir St Michael’s Singers for many years. Again it was good to catch up.


Ruth introduced me to the music of 70s prog rock band Focus! She had also been on Scala Radio earlier in the day mentioning my walk – and getting Harris Faire I the Heaven played as a dedication – my 5th bit of radio coverage!


 

Today's route




 


Donate to the charities



 

Daily Data

Days left until John O’Groats

54

Route miles walked

320.27

Route miles missed

12 miles owed to sponsors

Estimated miles until John O’Groats

736

Evening and rest day walking

5

Counties walked through

7

Ferry miles

0.4

Number of walking companions so far

4

Number of stiles crossed

43

Current sponsorship total

£12,585.85

Cast of characters (Bold = walking companions)

Jeremy Pemberton, Laurence Cunnington, Brad Poulson, Adele Poulson, Graeme Parkhill, Andy Hellwig, Patrick Lynn, Esther Lynn, Emma Rayner, Quentin Rayner, Sara Low, Robbie Low, Christopher Darwin, Heather Darwin, Christine Hytch, Chris Hytch and Annown, Hilary Edwards, Richard Edwards, Rachel Robbins, Mark Robbins, Ben Turner, Bart Day, Cristina Dorador de Los Santos, Ruth Sharville, Adrian Sharville



158 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page