top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Day 23 (18 August): Chepstow to Monmouth

I left the marvellous hospitality of the Sharvilles and set off for the beautiful Wye Valley. My third visit. The first stage was on the new Greenway path, along an old railway track – so new it was not on my map. The Wye Valley Way along the other side of the valley would have been rather strenuous, and I was glad of the easier Greenway route as it turned out to be a pretty long day – over 18 miles for the second day running.



Part of the Greenway was about 30 minutes in the Tidenham Tunnel, which must have cost a lot to restore and light. It was very odd being in there on my own for nearly the whole time. There were also one or two sculptures on the Greenway made out of old railway sleepers etc – including the crocodile (dragon?) in the picture – actually about 30 foot long, though the picture does not show it all.



The footbridge to Tintern was closed for repairs, but I had visited Tintern Abbey in 2019, so the only disadvantage was finding the correct way onwards, which took a couple of wrong turnings.


I then followed either the Wye Valley Way or the Offa’s Dyke path (low bits only!) for the rest of the way to Monmouth, failing to find lunch until 3.30 at Redbrook. In 1974 I remember falling asleep on the grassy slopes of Redbrook while listening to Wagner’s Siegfried Idyll on a transistor radio. I have also found welcome food at the village shop on two other occasions.



The last couple of miles I was feeling really tired (maybe two 18 milers in a row is not a good idea?). It threatened to rain, but didn’t – I still have not been rained on properly: the only heavy rain was on my rest day on Tuesday.


Finally, I arrived at Monmouth and met sister Jill (Little Sis) and her wife Lisa (Mamalisa) who are staying at the same hotel - The Punch House. They had booked in fine, but apparently my booking predated a change of management company and they had no record of it. Thankfully they had a room and it was not prepaid. I even had an automated email from the previous management company during the evening asking me how my stay was going!

The hotel (cheaper end) proved good – a chair and a desk! (but no biscuits) – I also realise that as requirement is a toilet seat which stays up rather than falling unexpectedly with a crash.


Jill, Lisa and I had a very good supper before retiring early. They are walking with me for the first half of tomorrow.


This is the last hotel I am in until 26th, thanks to hosts’ generosity.


I had an email-shot reminding me that it is only a week until the Southwell Music Festival – it will be so strange not to be there this year.


Another milestone – I passed the 355 miles mark – a third of the estimated distance.

 

Today's route




 


Donate to the charities



 

Daily Data

Days left until John O’Groats

53

Route miles walked

338.88

Route miles missed

12 miles owed to sponsors

Estimated miles until John O’Groats

717

Evening and rest day walking

5

Counties walked through

8

Ferry miles

0.4

Number of walking companions so far

4

Number of stiles crossed

46

Current sponsorship total

£12,585.85

Cast of characters (Bold = walking companions)

Jeremy Pemberton, Laurence Cunnington, Brad Poulson, Adele Poulson, Graeme Parkhill, Andy Hellwig, Patrick Lynn, Esther Lynn, Emma Rayner, Quentin Rayner, Sara Low, Robbie Low, Christopher Darwin, Heather Darwin, Christine Hytch, Chris Hytch and Annown, Hilary Edwards, Richard Edwards, Rachel Robbins, Mark Robbins, Ben Turner, Bart Day, Cristina Dorador de Los Santos, Ruth Sharville, Adrian Sharville, Jill Turner-Webb, Lisa Turner-Webb



160 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page