top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Day 25 (20 August): Little Dewchurch to Hereford

Today I got to the one third marker in terms of days as well as in terms of miles.I also got properly rained on for the first time – although only for half an hour.


After a great time with Crispin and Suz, I set off down tiny, scenic country lanes on what should have been a twelve mile easyish walk. However somehow I missed a turning, and, as you can see from the Strava map, ended up doing three long sides of a rectangle, which took me three miles out of my way. It was a pleasant diversion, but a tiring one.


The tiring morning was compounded by an hour or so traffic dodging on busy roads before I found a good sandwich at the pub in Mordiford.


Although the afternoon walk was flat, traffic free and scenic – on the ‘Three Choirs Way’, by this time I was too tired to be enjoying myself. It seems to be the day after a long day which is the casualty.


I arrived in Hereford at 4.00 rather than 3.00 – and in the south of the city rather than in the north. So I have a mile or so to make up tomorrow.



Jane and Peter Mortimore picked me up and took me home to Malvern to stay over. Jane was a member of St Michael’s Singers, whom I first met in 1975. They had invited Ian and Barbara Howarth to supper – Ian was a founder St Michael’s Singers, and read music in my year at Cambridge. He has just retired from the Methodist Ministry. It was great to catch up with both couples.



I was slightly perturbed by how tired I felt today. Two more days until a rest day – and tomorrow I will only have a light pack, as I am returning to Jane and Peter’s for a second night. So hopefully I shall be OK.

 

Today's route



 


Donate to the charities



 

Daily Data

Days left until John O’Groats

50

Route miles walked

373.6

Route miles missed

12 miles owed to sponsors

Estimated miles until John O’Groats

683

Evening and rest day walking

5

Counties walked through

10

Ferry miles

0.4

Number of walking companions so far

6

Number of stiles crossed

51

Current sponsorship total

£12,610.85

Cast of characters (Bold = walking companions)

Jeremy Pemberton, Laurence Cunnington, Brad Poulson, Adele Poulson, Graeme Parkhill, Andy Hellwig, Patrick Lynn, Esther Lynn, Emma Rayner, Quentin Rayner, Sara Low, Robbie Low, Christopher Darwin, Heather Darwin, Christine Hytch, Chris Hytch and Annown, Hilary Edwards, Richard Edwards, Rachel Robbins, Mark Robbins, Ben Turner, Bart Day, Cristina Dorador de Los Santos, Ruth Sharville, Adrian Sharville, Jill Turner-Webb, Lisa Turner-Webb, Crispin Pemberton, Suzannah Pemberton, Jane Mortimore, Peter Mortimore, Ian Howarth, Barbara Howarth



143 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page