top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Day 26 (21 August): Hereford to Stoke Prior

Jane and Peter kindly ran me to Hereford. Because I have another night with them I was only walking with a light pack (the fourth time of the trip).



I walked about the planned distance – just under 15 miles, but because I was about three miles behind at the end of yesterday, I remained so at the end of today, ending up at Stoke Prior rather than reaching Leominster. I decided that it was as well to shorten today and lengthen tomorrow a little – given that it is a rest day on Tuesday.



Today was actually the most boring day’s walking since the start, for one simple reason – hedges. Once I was out of Hereford, all the roads I was on had high hedges, and thus I could not see the countryside. For a large part of the journey, the road was rather busy and so there was a lot of traffic dodging. I still haven’t been hooted for being in the way, which rather surprises me.



After lunch – on a convenient salt box – and crossing the A417, the road was quieter, but the views no more accessible. Peter dropped Jane to do the last two or three miles with me, making her my seventh walking companion. The walking day ended at 3.30, which was useful for catching up energy.


Back to Peter and Jane’s for supper and chat. Tomorrow I have to make up the lost 3 miles and then on to Ludlow – and during tomorrow’s walk I shall pass the 400mile mark.


One of my four charities is AWARDS FOR YOUNG MUSICIANS – they were the BBC Radio 4 appeal today


Today's route



 


Donate to the charities



 

Daily Data

Days left until John O’Groats

49

Route miles walked

388.26

Route miles missed

12 miles owed to sponsors

Estimated miles until John O’Groats

668

Evening and rest day walking

5

Counties walked through

10

Ferry miles

0.4

Number of walking companions so far

7

Number of stiles crossed

53

Current sponsorship total

£12,860.85

Cast of characters (Bold = walking companions)

Jeremy Pemberton, Laurence Cunnington, Brad Poulson, Adele Poulson, Graeme Parkhill, Andy Hellwig, Patrick Lynn, Esther Lynn, Emma Rayner, Quentin Rayner, Sara Low, Robbie Low, Christopher Darwin, Heather Darwin, Christine Hytch, Chris Hytch and Annown, Hilary Edwards, Richard Edwards, Rachel Robbins, Mark Robbins, Ben Turner, Bart Day, Cristina Dorador de Los Santos, Ruth Sharville, Adrian Sharville, Jill Turner-Webb, Lisa Turner-Webb, Crispin Pemberton, Suzannah Pemberton, Jane Mortimore, Peter Mortimore, Ian Howarth, Barbara Howarth



135 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page