top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Day 29: (24 August): Ludlow to Church Stretton

Sue kindly ran me to Ludlow to continue my walk – in this case back here to Church Stretton.

Today’s walk had a lot of variety and no unexpected wrong turnings – indeed at just under 17 miles it was a little shorter than I thought it would be and I was back by 4.30.


The route took me through country lanes (some right by the railway), woodland footpaths, farmland, parts of the Shropshire Way and even through Ludlow racecourse.



Although there are some seriously steep hills around Church Stretton – and earlier in the trip I would have wanted to go to the summits - my walk took me between them, or approached them very gradually, so it was never a strenuous walk. The signage was good, except for one or two points when it was guessable, so all very efficient and enjoyable.


I was still very tired, despite the rest day yesterday, and had an hour’s doze before supper.

Sue and Bob have put me up (put up with me?) for three days, despite never having met me before – once again I am so grateful for people’s kindness on this trip.




Tomorrow more of the Shropshire Way on the way to Shrewsbury. Last time I was there was in 1979 for an unsuccessful job interview. It was there at the station that I received a call from Caroline telling me I had an interview at France Hill School, Camberley - where I ended up teaching for 11 years, and making many lifelong friends.


 

Today's route





 


Donate to the charities



 

Daily Data

Days left until John O’Groats

46

Route miles walked

421.37

Route miles missed

12 – Bridgwater to Highbridge

6 – Richard’s Castle to Ludlow

Estimated miles until John O’Groats

635

Evening and rest day walking

8.76

Counties walked through

11

Ferry miles

0.4

Number of walking companions so far

7

Number of stiles crossed

71

Current sponsorship total

£12,860.85

Cast of characters (Bold = walking companions)

Jeremy Pemberton, Laurence Cunnington, Brad Poulson, Adele Poulson, Graeme Parkhill, Andy Hellwig, Patrick Lynn, Esther Lynn, Emma Rayner, Quentin Rayner, Sara Low, Robbie Low, Christopher Darwin, Heather Darwin, Christine Hytch, Chris Hytch and Annown, Hilary Edwards, Richard Edwards, Rachel Robbins, Mark Robbins, Ben Turner, Bart Day, Cristina Dorador de Los Santos, Ruth Sharville, Adrian Sharville, Jill Turner-Webb, Lisa Turner-Webb, Crispin Pemberton, Suzannah Pemberton, Jane Mortimore, Peter Mortimore, Ian Howarth, Barbara Howarth, Sue Welch, Bob Welch, Lynda Gray, Jim Gray



138 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page