top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Day 30: (25 August): Church Stretton to Shrewsbury

This turned out to be one of the best days’ walking so far, with views that remind you why you started walking in the first place.



Having been too tired at the end of yesterday, I was a little anxious about heading up into the hills opposite Church Stretton, but after Cornwall the climbing did not feel too strenuous.

Nigel Pursey kindly drove to Church Stretton to put my rucksack in his car, and then to walk the first few miles with me, taking me right up into the hills to where the footpath signage was certain. Amazing views back down to Church Stretton and beyond, and later across to Wales. He then pointed me in the right direction before returning to his car.


The rest my walk was then on two footpaths – Portway and then mainly on the Shropshire Way, which was excellently waymarked. Only a very short few bits of minor roads and views all the way.



Towards the end there was another climb up, this time to Lyth Hill – more great views – before descending into Shrewsbury, where Nigel met me again to guide me to his house. Here I met his wife Gill – briefly, as she was off to see an open air ‘As You Like It’.


Nigel and Gill are again people who are putting me up despite never having met me – Nigel is organist of Shrewsbury Abbey, and a friend of my former colleague Steve Power (himself organist at Brecon Cathedral).


After today I have reached the end of the long sequence of homestays – only one of the last ten nights has been in a hotel, and that one was Monmouth where sister Jill and her wife Lisa were staying too. So the hotel on my own thing has not happened since day 20.

I now have three such days before meeting Tom and Hannah (son and daughter) in Birkenhead.


I am very relieved that I do not feel as tired as I did yesterday. I was so tired then that I feared for my ability to carry on. However today, despite being longer and with more climbing, has not taken so much of a toll. So clearly yesterday was a blip.


Tomorrow rather a long haul to Ellesmere, but Nigel has advised about good paths and roads, and the terrain is flatter.


Very odd to see Whatsapp messages between my Minster colleagues about performing services in the Southwell Music Festival! I am certainly missing the singing!


This time next week I will be past the halfway point……….


 

Today's route



 


Donate to the charities



 

Daily Data

Days left until John O’Groats

45

Route miles walked

439.38

Route miles missed

12 – Bridgwater to Highbridge

6 – Richard’s Castle to Ludlow

Estimated miles until John O’Groats

611

Evening and rest day walking

8.76

Counties walked through

11

Ferry miles

0.4

Number of walking companions so far

7

Number of stiles crossed

73

Current sponsorship total

£12,860.85

Cast of characters (Bold = walking companions)

Jeremy Pemberton, Laurence Cunnington, Brad Poulson, Adele Poulson, Graeme Parkhill, Andy Hellwig, Patrick Lynn, Esther Lynn, Emma Rayner, Quentin Rayner, Sara Low, Robbie Low, Christopher Darwin, Heather Darwin, Christine Hytch, Chris Hytch and Annown, Hilary Edwards, Richard Edwards, Rachel Robbins, Mark Robbins, Ben Turner, Bart Day, Cristina Dorador de Los Santos, Ruth Sharville, Adrian Sharville, Jill Turner-Webb, Lisa Turner-Webb, Crispin Pemberton, Suzannah Pemberton, Jane Mortimore, Peter Mortimore, Ian Howarth, Barbara Howarth, Sue Welch, Bob Welch, Lynda Gray, Jim Gray, Nigel Pursey, Gill Pursey



164 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page