top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Day 32: (27 August) Ellesmere to Holt ......BUT.....


(Opposite the bus-stop in Oswestry)


‘Today my left foot has started complaining. I hope it sorts itself out because I could not walk a day on it at the moment!’ – this quote from yesterday’s blog turned out to have more significance that it felt at the time.


When I got up this morning my left foot was so painful that I could hardly put weight on it at all.


I got a taxi (after dozens of calls) to a walk-in centre at the Minor Injuries Unit at Oswestry Health Centre (three cheers for the NHS!). Although a stress fracture was considered, I was told it was most likely Plantar Fasciitis – which I had long thought was something else altogether. I was given a booklet of advice and exercises.


I had lunch in Oswestry (I remember wanting to go to Oswestry in 1971 on the way back from a holiday with my Dad, but it was not until today that I finally made it). As I hobbled round the town the foot became a little less painful. Apparently if you have PF it is at its worst after rest.


I then got a bus to Wrexham and found a taxi straight way to my hotel near Holt (coffee, biscuits, desk, chair, breakfast, working wifi – all boxes ticked – whatever next? Mid price….)

Here I talked to Hannah, Tom and sister Jill (a nurse who has had Plantar Fasciitis herself). I also read the advice booklet, which encouragingly says that PF usually gets better after about 12 months.


So………I have obviously not walked today, and I have made arrangements to not walk tomorrow or Monday. Tuesday is a rest day anyway. With a slight rejig of accommodation I will get to see more of Tom and Hannah in Liverpool, which is a good consolation prize.


But…….at the very least I have lost three days of the walk, and possibly I will have to stop the whole trip, if my foot is not back in action by Wednesday – which frankly does not look likely.


This has taken a lot of adjusting to, as you can imagine. There will be days of admin to do if I do have to stop!


For the moment it is just….watch this space………..






 

Today's route

No Strava today for obvious reasons




 


Donate to the charities



 

Daily Data

Days left until John O’Groats

43

Route miles walked

469.74

Route miles missed

12 – Bridgwater to Highbridge

6 – Richard’s Castle to Ludlow

Estimated miles until John O’Groats

575

Evening and rest day walking

11,28

Counties walked through

11

Ferry miles

0.4

Number of walking companions so far

8

Number of stiles crossed

75

Current sponsorship total

£12,860.85

Cast of characters (Bold = walking companions)

Jeremy Pemberton, Laurence Cunnington, Brad Poulson, Adele Poulson, Graeme Parkhill, Andy Hellwig, Patrick Lynn, Esther Lynn, Emma Rayner, Quentin Rayner, Sara Low, Robbie Low, Christopher Darwin, Heather Darwin, Christine Hytch, Chris Hytch and Annown, Hilary Edwards, Richard Edwards, Rachel Robbins, Mark Robbins, Ben Turner, Bart Day, Cristina Dorador de Los Santos, Ruth Sharville, Adrian Sharville, Jill Turner-Webb, Lisa Turner-Webb, Crispin Pemberton, Suzannah Pemberton, Jane Mortimore, Peter Mortimore, Ian Howarth, Barbara Howarth, Sue Welch, Bob Welch, Lynda Gray, Jim Gray, Nigel Pursey, Gill Pursey





214 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page