top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Day 6: Treyarnon Bay to St Endellion


Today’s walk was unique so far in that I had friends walking with me. My hosts for last night, Emma and Quentin, walked with me as far as Padstow and saw me onto the ferry to Rock. Very enjoyable, a mix of coast footpath and backroads, and Quentin set up some good photos and video (watch this space). We had lunch in a café before I caught the ferry.


There will be several ferries on the trip, and it raises the question of cheating! Without taking the planned ferries I would be adding dozens of miles to my journey (and in the case of the ferry across Loch Lomond, taking my life in my hand on the road at the west of the Loch which is prohibitively dangerous for pedestrians). However, it does not alter the fact that a ferry is a ride and therefore not much different from taking a lift part of the way. The way I will make sure it is above board is to set ferry journeys against the extra miles walked in evenings and rest days.


I do not remember taking the ferry here in 1973, and will have to check my diary to find out where we went between Treyaron Bay Youth Hostel and Port Isaac. However I clearly remember taking it on the family holiday to Constantine Bay in 1984. We were with Caroline’s Dad and brother Hugh. Grandad had a disability which made him somewhat unsteady on his legs. The ferry people did not tell us that at the Rock end people simply had to walk down a steep plank. This was precarious enough for the rest of us, but Grandad simply couldn’t manage. Hugh and I had to wade into the sea and support him on either side!

The rest of the walk was by minor roads all the way to St Endellion. The forecast had predicted cloud all day, but the sun was out until 4.00. However there was a good breeze so it was not oppressive like it was on Thursday. The last 50 minutes was one long uphill stretch.


I had arranged to be picked up by St Endellion Church – and I will be dropped back there after my rest day. The annual Festival there was taking place, though there was no concert today. I looked into the open and unattended church to see everything set up, I assume for the dress rehearsal for tomorrow’s Peter Grimes. Although there was no-one there supervising, there was a harp, and lots of expensive percussion just waiting to be stolen. The production cast includes Roddy Williams and Sophie Bevan, singers I have met through Southwell Music Festival, and Rory Kinnear directing. I was hoping I might bump into one of them and get a photo, but no-one was around.



I was picked up and taken to the home of Sara and Robbie Low in Lostwithiel, where I will be spending my first rest day. Sara is the agent who provides me with all the quiz question verification work which has been an important part of my freelance income for the last ten years.


It seems odd not to be walking tomorrow, but it will be a welcome break!





 

To support any of the four charities go to https://linktr.ee/guygoesnorth


 

Daily Data

Days left until John O’Groats

70

Route miles walked

93.54

Estimated miles until John O’Groats

956

Evening and rest day walking

3.5

Counties walked through

1

Ferry miles

0.4

Number of walking companions so far

2

Number of stiles crossed

28

Current sponsorship total

£12,118.82

Cast of characters

Jeremy Pemberton, Laurence Cunnington, Brad Poulson, Adele Poulson, Graeme Parkhill, Andy Hellwig, Patrick Lynn, Esther Lynn, Emma Rayner, Quentin Rayner, Sara Low, Robbie Low


Support the Charities

To donate to any of the four charities, click here.

184 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page