top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Onwards and Northwards

For those who are still interested....






Just after Easter I returned to Cheshire to do five and two halves further days' walking, from Churton south off Chester to Catterall north of Preston. This was 90 further miles, and I now have a continuous line stretching 587 miles north from Land's End.


No further foot problems as yet, and good weather - I still have not experienced heavy rain on any part of the trip.


Although it is a grey area because of parts of days etc, I make the count from the start 37 days.


Hotels all good and ticked most of the boxes, though again the one Airbnb was probably the best, and cheapest.


My route took me through Chester, Birkenhead, Liverpool and Formby, before crossing the West Lancs Coastal Plain - terrain like the Fens or the Somerset Levels - and getting to Preston. It was strange not having an obvious label to the part of the journey - the South West Peninsular is a very clear stage, as is the Welsh Border, but onwards from here to Scotland is a variety of places.


I was surprised by teh comparative lengths of the first two stages: Land's End to Bristol 20 days, Bristol to Liverpool (which I would have assumed was further) 14 days.


Memorable events:


Finding out I had become a grandfather while in Chester. Abbie, 7lb 1oz - I had to finish the walk before going to meet her.


Passing the new Everton football ground being built and seeing a concrete wall about 12 meters by 3 being craned into position about 50 metres up.


Walking Crosby beach and seeing Antony Gormley's 'Another Place' (100 cast iron figures looking out to sea, spread over 2 miles of beach).


Wonderful long stretch of the Leeds and Liverpool Canal in lovely weather - 2nd best day of the whole trip (after Church Stretton to Shrewsbury on the Shropshire Way).


This time I planned my days to be no longer than 14 or 15 miles, and the walking was mostly flat, so I did not get too tired.


In the early summer I will return to Catterall and proceed north. I should 'finish England' on day 9 of this trip, and end up a little North of Dumfries. I will do some more blogging then.


Of course these trips are essentially just a holiday now, but if and when I complete the journey (2024?) I will invite some final trickles of sponsorship in the hope of reaching the £20,000 mark


165 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page