top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Scotland Continued




For those who are still following the adventure……………


I am preparing to set off on the next stage of the walk north. On Monday (April 1st) I will travel back to Auldgirth, a few miles north of Dumfries, to continue.


The route is Thornhill, Kirkconnell, Cumnock, Kilmarnock, Uplawmoor, Clydebank, Balloch, Balmaha, Inversnaid, Crainlarich, Dalmally, Taynuilt and Oban. This included the eastern side of Loch Lomond, which I am especially looking forward to.


You may observe that Oban is on the west coast and not really on the way to John O’Groats, which is on the east. However, it has always been my plan to cross east to west on the Great Glen; and Oban is a nice place to stay, and I can get a train home from there.

I will be arriving in Oban on 13th April. I shall be walking on my own in week one, and then with two old school friends, Owen Goodspeed and Simon Moore, for three days each in week two – they are overlapping for one evening in Crainlarich.


I will do a full blog on my return.


After that the plan is to finish the walk over a three week stretch in October/November. The summer would not be a good idea for walking by the lochs, because of the midges. (So in the Summer I am having a holiday which is not part of the walk – for the first time for three years).


As before, I am not raising money for Charity at this stage, but I plan to open the giving pages again in October, in case the fact that I will be  finishing the walk might warrant a few more donations.


 

120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page