top of page
Search
  • guyscottturner

Three Months to Go

Three months today I will take a bus from Penzance to Land's End and begin my walk.


I have been doing a lot of 'training' - local 18 -20 mile walks with the rucksack (filled with books and pillows to the approximate correct weight) and in the last few days five days based in Castleton, walking (again with pack) up Mam Tor, Lose Hill, Win Hill and Kinder Scout - all higher hills than anything I will be climbing on the walk itself.


All my accommodation is now booked - ten nights with friends, 15 with strangers or friends-of-friends who have kindly volunteered to put me up, and the rest in hotels and bed-and-breakfasts - 77 nights including 11 rest days. I should do well for Expedia points after the trip!


What is really exciting, as you will see from the giving pages of this site, is that over £5,000 has already been donated, half way to my existing target three months before I start. This week I am meeting with Southwell Lions Club and Southwell Rotary to talk about the walk, and both will be offering financial and other support. I suspect I will be upping my target before I leave.


With most of my equipment bought, and all plans in place, it is frustrating that I have to wait three months!




76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page